DJ Gringo and Blvk H3ro Unite For “Alien In New York – The Blend Project”

Jamaica And NYC Creatives Link Up for Space Age Audio Visual Mixtape

DJ Gringo Photo By: Champion Hamilton

DJ Gringo, the NYC-based chief of Stateside Revolution Sound System and host of “The Perfect Blend” on SiriusXM The Joint, has joined forces with eclectic Jamaican singer-songwriter Blvk H3ro (pronounced Black Hero) to create an audio visual mixtape movie titled Alien In New York – The Blend Project.

Premiering recently on World A ReggaeAlien In New York was offered the following quirky, yet purposed description:

Somewhere in the not so far future a crew of highly intelligent beings take a trip across time and space in search of their favorite recording artist, the legendary Blvk H3ro. The extraterrestrials use technology to locate the audio signal of Alien In New York – The Blend Project, curated by DJ Gringo of Stateside Revolution, featuring exclusive dubplates by Blvk H3ro.  

The Aliens spend a whole day flying around NYC hoping to get an autograph and a dubplate from H3ro, with the intention of playing it over their intergalactic sound system. On this fun adventure they learn about the current state of planet Earth and society and decide they need to remind humanity of our capacity to do good despite how small we may seem in comparison to the universe.

The 37-minute video mix, directed by j.-Rockazz The Observer, follows the adventures of a group of galaxy-hopping Baby Yodas who trade in their spaceship for the R train when they arrive to New York City in search of Blvk H3ro. The artist has just landed at JFK airport to link with DJ Gringo for some studio work. From the bright lights of Times Square up to Harlem’s famed Apollo Theater, the Aliens’ treks are soundtracked by the exclusive new Blvk H3ro selections that Gringo seamlessly blends while the story develops. The sights and sounds of the “city that never sleeps” jump off the screen, fully accentuated by the assortment of sexy dancehall queens who are featured throughout.

Blvk H3ro

“The whole vibe of The Blend Project was to not only showcase my skills, my universal energy, and diversity, but to show my connection with my brother Gringo. It’s the link between a young artist/lyricist from Jamaica and a veteran DJ from New York. The whole blend is just the fusion of my generation with his generation, to create a bridge – a mix with a spin twist and a spin that showcases me in all my different elements,” explained Blvk H3ro

“An almost perfect audial display of the versatility possessed by my family, the young super talented Blvk H3ro with the visuals that served as an icing to an already sweet and tasty cake. A movie added to a mixtape….. I’ve never seen this done like this with our music before,” added DJ Gringo.

Hailing from the historic Waterford community in St. Catherine, Jamaica, Blvk H3ro first gained international recognition upon the release of his buzzworthy single “Feet Don’t Fail” from his 2019 debut album The Immortal Steppa. His profile has continued to rise with the 2020 release of The New Millennium EP (a collaboration with Wayne J), which featured the blazing hot single “Original” (included on Alien In New York as an exclusive dubplate). H3ro has also served as a brand ambassador for both Bob Marley and Bunny Wailer.

DJ Gringo was the first-born in Brooklyn to a family who recently immigrated from Jamaica. Cementing his status as a commanding radio personality and stalwart on the NY club scene for more than two decades, Gringo has also been recruited to play some of Jamaica’s biggest events, including the Welcome To Jamrock Cruise, Rebel Salute, and Full Loaded, to name a few. His voice can be heard on award-winning video games like Saints Row and Grand Theft Auto.

Alien In New York – The Blend Project tracklist:

  1. Oh Lawd (exclusive)
  2. Original (dubplate)
  3. Many Men (exclusive)
  4. Stand Up and Fight (dubplate)
  5. Keep You Warm (exclusive)
  6. Love
  7. Feet Don’t Fail (dubplate)
  8. Watch Yo Step (dubplate)
  9. Herb (dubplate)
  10. Triumph (exclusive)
  11. Rebel Code (ft. Turbulence and Yeza)
  12. Nyahbinghi Order

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

An image as a link: W3Schools